On social media platforms where anybody, even strangers, can easily look you up, it’s important to have the option to manage your privacy and control who has access to the things you post. Nowadays, Facebook is among the popular apps that help people easily stay connected. On the other hand, it’s also quite easy for people you don’t know to find you on the app.
Facebook rolled out another feature that allows you to lock your profile so that anyone who isn’t on your friends list would only have a limited view of your Facebook profile. When you lock your profile, only your friends would be able to see the following:
- Photos and posts on your profile
- You full size profile picture or cover photo
- Your Stories
- Your new posts and photos
Here’s the nitty-gritty on this new Facebook feature:
If you have any posts from the past that are set to Public, the settings will automatically change so that they would only become visible to your Friends List. Additionally, only a portion of the information in your About page would be available to anyone who views your profile.
Although there are individual settings for privacy, the locking of the profile makes it easier for users to change their privacy settings instead of doing it one by one.
Unfortunately, the feature is only available in selected countries so far. But an article by a local tech website called Tech Pilipinas shared a loophole that Pinoy Facebook users could try should they wish to make use of the feature. According to the website, you’d need to be on the Facebook Lite app and you’d have to switch the language of the app to activate the feature.
But if you wish to sit it out and wait until it’s been rolled out in the country, you have other options to increase your account’s privacy settings, including the app’s Privacy Checkup feature, changing your story settings, choosing who can view your posts and photos, and controlling who can send friend requests and who can follow you.