Home Top News and Stories Philippines News Headline 2 towns in La Union remain under MECQ until April 30

2 towns in La Union remain under MECQ until April 30


2 towns in La Union remain under MECQ until April 30

SAN FERNANDO CITY, Apr. 28 (PIA) –The municipalities of Bauang and Luna in the province of La Union remain under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) classification until April 30, 2021.


This  after Governor Francisco Emmanuel Ortega III signed Executive Order Nos. 15 and 17 to grant the request of local chief executives of said towns to extend the implementation of MECQ status in their respective municipalities.


In both issuances, it has been cited that there may be a decrease in the number of recorded COVID-19 infections but the local government units will need more time to put all their plans into action for the prevention of the further transmission of the virus.


“This extension is to allow sufficient time for the completion of necessary interventions and to prevent the further spread of the virus,” stated in both EOs.


Luna was placed under MECQ last April 6 after it logged 90 active cases while Bauang was declared on the same classification after it recorded 182 active cases.


As of this writing, following the improvement on the daily COVID-19 situation in both towns, the LGU Bauang is continuously monitoring a total of 156 active cases while LGU Luna only has remaining 12 active cases.


Meanwhile, the heightened community quarantine status imposed in the municipalities of Aringay, Agoo, Naguilian and Tubao had been lifted last April 22 and had already reverted to General Community Quarantine status while the city of San Fernando is back to GCQ last April 24.


The municipality of Bangar also shifted to GCQ effective Tuesday, April 27. (JCR/VHS/CGC, PIA La Union)