Home Top News and Stories Philippines News Headline FDCP to celebrate pride of PH cinema in Film Ambassadors’ Night 2021

FDCP to celebrate pride of PH cinema in Film Ambassadors’ Night 2021


FDCP to celebrate pride of PH cinema in Film Ambassadors’ Night 2021

While 2020 was marred by the devastating effects of the pandemic, the resilience of Filipinos and their victories, big and small, are still worth celebrating.

FAN 2021 Actors Awardees Elijah Canlas and Alden Richards. CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS

This in mind, Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) is continuing its annual event Film Ambassadors’ Night (FAN) this 2021, albeit virtually, on February 28.

“FAN 2021 hopefully can spark hope for us [and showcase] the resilience of the film industry through the many accolades that our filmmakers received and won amid the pandemic. FAN is all about that,” FDCP Chairman and CEO Liza Diño said at FAN’s virtual media launch.

The FAN, an annual event spearheaded by the FDCP since 2017, recognizes Filipino film industry creatives, artists, filmmakers, and films of various formats that gained recognitions from established international film festivals and award-giving bodies in the past year.

“Whenever we hold FAN, it’s always about celebrating our filmmakers and looking at the brighter side of things, that there’s always an opportunity for us to promote our stories, our cinema, promote our filmmakers and be proud of their works that represent us in different parts of the world,” Diño added.

This goal holds more bearing this year according to Diño given the challenges of 2020.

“While we are celebrating, we also are giving recognition to people who have been our champion in the midst of pandemic.”

60 honorees and special awardees

For its fifth edition, FAN will be recognizing 60 honorees and special awardees.

FAN 2021 A-Listers Lav Diaz and Rafael Manuel. CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS

Leading the list are the A-Listers, those who bagged awards in prestigious A-List international film festivals as declared by the International Federation of Film Producers Associations (FIAPF).

This year’s A-Listers included filmmakers Rafael Manuel and Lav Diaz.

Rafael Manuel was awarded the Berlinale Shorts Silver Bear Jury Prize for “Filipiñana” at the 70th Berlin International Film Festival in Germany while Lav Diaz won the Orizzonti Award for Best Director for “Lahi, Hayop (Genus Pan)” at the 77th Venice International Film Festival in Italy.

FAN 2021 ‘Cinemadvocate’ awardees Pangasinan 4th District Rep. Christopher de Venecia, CCP President Arsenio Lizaso, Dingdong Dantes and Angel Locsin. CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS

Meanwhile, the Feature Films category has six honorees namely, “Sunshine Family” by Kim Tai-Sik, “Write About Love” by Crisanto Aquino, “Latay (Battered Husband)” by Ralston Jover, Pan de Salawal” by Che Espiritu, “Lingua Franca” by Isabel Sandoval, and “John Denver Trending” by Arden Rod Condez. The honorees in the Directors category are Maria Diane Ventura for “Deine Farbe,” Mallorie Ortega for “The Girl Who Left Home,” and Derick Cabrido for “Clarita.”

The Actors category will award Cristine Reyes for “UnTrue,” Ruby Ruiz for “Iska,” Elijah Canlas for “Kalel, 15,” Louise Abuel for “Edward,” Isabel Sandoval for “Lingua Franca,” Lovi Poe and Allen Dizon for “Latay,” the cast of Kaputol” led by Cherie Gil, Alfred Vargas, Angel Aquino, and Ronwaldo Martin, and Alden Richards for being the Asian Star Prize recipient at the Seoul International Drama Awards. Dingdong Dantes and Arjo Atayde are the television awardees who made it to the FAN 2021 Actors list.

The FAN also has other categories such as Short Films, Documentaries, Creative Awards, and Special Citation. The two Special Citation recipients are veteran television and film director Luisito Lagdameo Ignacio and the late filmmaker and International Film Festival Manhattan co-founder Gerry Balasta.

Cinemadvocates, Gabay ng Industriya and Camera Obscura

The FAN will bestow special awards to pay tribute to the invaluable contributions of film industry stakeholders.

Cinemadvocates is a special segment of this year’s FAN to laud individuals and groups that tirelessly champion the welfare of film workers and the development of the industry. Pangasinan 4th District Rep. Christopher “Toff” de Venecia, National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) Chairman and Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) President Arsenio “Nick” Lizaso, Lockdown Cinema Club, Inter-Guild Alliance, Dingdong Dantes, and Angel Locsin are the FAN 2021 Cinemadvocates.

The Gabay ng Industriya Award, meanwhile, is a new citation to honor those who serve as Philippine Cinema’s guiding light and inspiration.

Cinematography icon Romy Vitug is the Haligi ng Industriya Award recipient while legendary actress Gloria Romero is the Ilaw ng Industriya Award recipient.

Finally, the Camera Obscura Artistic Excellence Award is the highest citation awarded by the FDCP to trailblazers and legends in the industry. This year’s Camera Obscura awardees are Jun Juban of Philippine Film Studios, Inc., multi-awarded documentary “Aswang” by Alyx Arumpac, and former NCCA Commissioner of the Arts Teddy Co.

Juban’s Philippine Film Studios, Inc. has been a critical figure in the country’s film and audiovisual industry, having produced and co-produced numerous films and audiovisual content, the most notable of which are Academy Award winners “Born on the Fourth of July” and “Platoon” by Oliver Stone, “The Bourne Legacy” by Tony Gilroy, Metro Manila Film Festival Best Picture “10,000 Hours” by Joyce Bernal, and several editions of reality television programs “The Amazing Race” and “Survivor.”

Arumpac’s “Aswang” was an A-Lister in FAN 2020 after taking home the Fipresci Prize in the 2019 International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA). The full-length documentary went on to win eight more international awards in 2020.

Gabay ng Industriya Awardees Romy Vitug and Gloria Romero. CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS

Teddy Co, a former NCCA Commissioner of the Arts and Head of National Committee on Cinema, is a director, curator, and archivist, who significantly helped in the repatriation and restoration of lost films by Manuel Conde, Gerardo de Leon, and Nonoy Marcelo, among others. He co-founded Cinema Rehiyon, which he continues to curate, and is a selection committee member for Cinemalaya, Cinema One Originals, and QCinema International Film Festival.

The first virtual FAN

For its 5th edition, the FAN will be held in support of the NCCA’s National Arts Month. It is going to be streamed online for free on February 28, Sunday, at 8 p.m. exclusively on the FDCP Channel. Those who want to watch the FAN 2021 may sign up for free at fdcpchannel.ph.

The FAN is supported by the CCP through the participation of its resident symphony orchestra, the Philippine Philharmonic Orchestra (PPO). The PPO will perform in various production numbers alongside Bamboo, Tres Marias (Bayang Barrios, Cooky Chua, and Lolita Carbon), Bituin Escalante, Beverly Salviejo, Karla Gutierrez, Lawrence Jatayna, and The Pogi Boys.

A special number featuring Ice Seguerra, Juris Fernandez, Princess Velasco, Sitti, Richard Poon, Kean Cipriano, and Duncan Ramos will also take place.

“I hope FDCP’s first event for the year, will be an opportunity for us to unite and share in this one experience. I-celebrate natin yung magagandang nangyari in 2020 and to look forward to better days for us,” Diño ended.

Camera Obscura Awardees Jun Juban, Alyx Arumpac and Teddy Co. CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS